Help Organizations

If you have any suggestions for resources or questions, please Contact Me.
You will find below a list of organizations that are arranged by category to direct you to the topic of your interest faster. Click on the Category listed here:

 

Mental Health Resources

Victims of Violence, Abuse, Crisis and Crime Resources

Drug – Alcohol – Substance Abuse Resources

Family, Children and Marriage Resources

Trying to quit smoking?

Physical Health Resources

Health Resources – Blood, Lung, Cholesterol, Weight, Nutrition, Cancer

Oral Health Care Resources

Stress Reduction Resources

Safety Resources

For the Elderly

General Resources

A

Mental Health Resources

Depression and Bipolar Support Alliancehttp://www.dbsalliance.org/site/PageServer?pagename=peer_landing&gclid=CJWOseWhx7wCFeRi7Aodi3EAPg
Mental Health America (MHA) http://www.mentalhealthamerica.net/
National Alliance of Mental Illness (NAMI)http://www.nami.org/
Alzheimer’s Association, Maintain Your Brainhttps://www.alz.org/alzheimer_s_dementia
AARP Games and Puzzles http://www.aarp.org/fun/puzzles
UCLA Memory Fitness Programhttps://www.semel.ucla.edu/longevity/news/staying-sharp-memory-fitness
Brain Injury Association of America, Preventing Brain Injury Among Seniors https://www.biausa.org/brain-injury
Mental Health Awareness Through Wristbandswww.wristbandexpress.com/content/Mental-Health-Awareness-Through-Wristbands
ADHD, Sleep and Sleep Disordershttps://chadd.org/about-adhd/adhd-sleep-and-sleep-disorders/
Guide to Mental Health Counselinghttps://counselor-license.com/careers/mental-health-counselor/
Guide to Suicide Counselinghttps://counselor-license.com/careers/suicide-counselors/
Tax Debt and Mental Healthhttps://www.riftrefunds.co.uk/tax-refunds/uk-tax-refund-advice/tax-debt-and-mental-health/

B

Victims of Violence, Abuse, Crisis and Crime Resources

Safe Horizon - Moving victims of violence from crisis to confidencehttp://www.safehorizon.org/?gclid=CNemnMyjx7wCFTRo7AodIxQAcA
Oprah’s Where to Get Help for Domestic Violencehttp://www.oprah.com/relationships/Domestic-Violence-Organizations-Where-to-Get-Help
Nova - National Organization for Victim Assistance - Crime/Crisishttp://www.trynova.org/
Partners in Prevention - "End Intimate Partner Abuse in Your Relationship" http://www.enddomesticabuse.org/domestic_violence_trt.php?gclid=CNm5qeKmx7wCFVQV7AodJ2kALA
Joyful Heart Foundation - Joyful Heart works to heal, educate and empower the abused and assaulted http://www.joyfulheartfoundation.org/?gclid=CM-Uytukx7wCFWxp7Aod1w8AnQ
Domestic Abuse and Addictionhttp://www.drugrehab.com/guides/domestic-abuse/
Substance Abuse and Domestic Violence: How To Get Helphttps://www.addictioncampuses.com/domestic-violence-guide/

C

Drug - Alcohol - Substance Abuse Resources

United Recovery Project
https://unitedrecoveryproject.com/gethelpnow
National Institutes of Health - Drug Abuse Organizationhttp://www.nih.gov/about/almanac/organization/NIDA.htm
List of addiction and substance abuse organizations - Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_addiction_and_substance_abuse_organizations
As You Age - A Guide to Aging, Medicines, and Alcohol from the U.S. Food and Drughttps://www.fda.gov/drugs/resourcesforyou/ucm079522.htm
Top Knoxville, TN Addiction Recovery Centers: Reviews and Ratingshttps://www.recovery.org/browse/knoxville-tn/
Knoxville Addiction Treatment Centershttps://www.projectknow.com/find/knoxville-tn/
Domestic Abuse and Addictionhttp://www.drugrehab.com/guides/domestic-abuse/
Signs of Addictionhttp://www.advancedrecoverysystems.com/process-addiction/signs-of-addiction/
Association for Addiction Professionalshttp://www.naadac.org/
Alcohol Awarenesshttp://alcoholawareness.org/resources
Alcohol Awareness Councilhttp://www.alcohol.org/
Alcohol Addictionhttp://www.drugrehab.com/addiction/alcohol/
The Discovery Village - Drugs/Suicidehttps://www.therecoveryvillage.com/drug-addiction/drugs-and-suicide/
Substance Abuse and Domestic Violence: How To Get Helphttps://www.addictioncampuses.com/domestic-violence-guide/

D

Family, Children and Marriage Resources

AAMFT American Association for Marriage and Family Theropyhttp://www.aamft.org/iMIS15/AAMFT/
iAMFC International Association of Marriage and Family Counselors http://www.iamfconline.org/
National Children’s Alliancehttp://www.nationalchildrensalliance.org/index.php?s=100
Child Welfare Information Gateway https://www.childwelfare.gov/
Child Identity Thefthttps://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/0040-child-identity-theft

E

Trying to quit smoking? There are free sites with great information, methods and alternatives

Smokefree - Get Help to Stop Smokinghttp://smokefree.gov/
Be Tobacco Freehttp://betobaccofree.hhs.gov/
American Cancer Societyhttps://www.cancer.org/
American Lung Associationhttps://www.lung.org/
National Center For Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Tobacco Information and Prevention Source (TIPS)www.cdc.gov/tobacco/how2quit.htm
How to quit smoking and improve your finances www.creditcards.com/credit-card-news/quit-smoking-financial-guide.php
Smoking Among College Studentshttps://online.maryville.edu/healthcare-degrees/smoking-among-college-students/

F

Physical Health Resources

National Council of Agingnihseniorhealth.gov/exercise/toc.html
AARP Physical Activity Resource Webpagewww.aarp.org/health/fitness
National Council for Aging Care's comprehensive guide on Exercising for Seniorswww.aging.com/exercising-for-life/
National Institute of Aginghttps://www.nia.nih.gov/health
Guide to Physical Activityhttps://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/educational/lose_wt/phy_act.htm
Obesity, Nutrition, and Physical Activityhttps://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/science/obesity-nutrition-and-physical-activity
Overweight and Obesityhttps://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/educational/wecan/get-active/index.htm
Physical Wellness Toolkithttps://www.nih.gov/health-information/physical-wellness-toolkit

G

Health Resources - Blood, Lung, Cholesterol, Weight, Nutrition, Cancer

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institutehttps://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/
American Heart Association, High Blood Pressurehttps://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/high-blood-pressure
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute’s National Cholesterol Education Campaignwww.nhlbi.nih.gov/chd
American Heart Association, Cholesterolhttps://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/cholesterol
Dietary Guidelines from Health.govhttps://health.gov/dietaryguidelines/
My Plate for Older Adults from Tufts Universityhttps://hnrca.tufts.edu/myplate/
American Dietetic Associationhttps://www.eatright.org/
National Institutes of Health (NIH) Office of Dietary Supplementsods.od.nih.gov
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, Weight-control Information Network, “Young at Heart: Tips for Older Adults”win.niddk.nih.gov/publications/young_heart.htm#tipsolder
U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Obesity and Manage Weight https://www.fda.gov/MedicalDevices/ProductsandMedicalProcedures/ObesityDevices/default.htm
American Heart Association, Overweighthttps://www.heart.org/en/healthy-living/healthy-eating/losing-weight
COPD National Action Planhttps://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/education-and-awareness/COPD-national-action-plan
Mesothelioma Guidehttps://www.mesotheliomaguide.com/mesothelioma/
Sjögren's Diseasehttps://www.sjogrens.org/
Nutritional Guide to Boosting Your Strengthhttps://breazy.com/blogs/education/nutritional-guide-to-boosting-your-strength
Mesothelioma Justice Network (Asbestos)https://www.asbestos.net/mesothelioma/
Mesothelioma Help Nowhttps://www.mesotheliomahelpnow.com/mesothelioma/
Mesothelioma Veterans Centerhttps://www.mesotheliomaveterans.org/

H

Oral Health Care Resources

American Dental Associationwww.ada.org
American Academy of Periodontology, “How to Keep a Healthy Smile for Life”http://www.perio.org/consumer/smile-effect
Oral Health For Patients With Alzheimer’s Disease Or Related Disorders (ADRD)https://www.emergencydentistsusa.com/alzheimers-dental-care/

I

Stress Reduction Resources

Discovery Health Channel, Stress Management Centerhealth.discovery.com/centers/stress/stress.html
AARP, Managing Stresswww.aarp.org/health/staying_healthy/stress
American Heart Association, Managing Stresshttps://www.heart.org/en/healthy-living/healthy-lifestyle/stress-management
American Federation for Aging Research, Infoaging.orghttps://www.infoaging.org/qa/stress-contribute-skin-aging/
PTSD and Sleephttps://sleepopolis.com/education/ptsd-and-sleep/

J

Safety Resources

State Child Passenger Safety Lawshttps://drivinglaws.aaa.com/tag/child-passenger-safety/
Bicycle Helmet Safety Institutewww.bhsi.org
The Ultimate Bike Safety Guidehttp://www.tripbuzz.com/bike-safety-guide/
Motorcycle Helmet Laws - GHSA - All Stateshttps://www.ghsa.org/state-laws/issues/motorcyclists
Motorcycle Safety - NHTSAhttps://www.nhtsa.gov/road-safety/motorcycle-safety
Find Bicycle Lawshttps://traffic.findlaw.com/traffic-tickets/bicycle-laws.html
Home Safety Tips for Seniorshttps://www.aplaceformom.com/senior-care-resources/articles/home-safety-tips-for-seniors
Guide To Senior Safety At Homehttps://www.alarms.org/guide-to-senior-safety-at-home/
Road Biking Safety
with Cars
http://www.buyautoinsurance.com/road-biking-safety-with-cars/

K

For the Elderly

Mental Health America (MHA) http://www.mentalhealthamerica.net/
Alzheimer’s Association, Maintain Your Brainhttps://www.alz.org/alzheimer_s_dementia
AARP Games and Puzzles www.aarp.org/fun/puzzles
Assisted Living Facilities and Senior Living Communitieshttps://www.seniorguidance.org/
As You Age - A Guide to Aging, Medicines, and Alcohol from the U.S. Food and Drughttp://lifenrichments.com/guide-to-aging-medicines-and-alcohol
National Council of Aginghttps://www.ncoa.org/
AARP Physical Activity Resource Webpagewww.aarp.org/health/fitness
National Council for Aging Care's comprehensive guide on Exercising for Seniorswww.aging.com/exercising-for-life/
National Institute of Aginghttps://www.nia.nih.gov/health
My Plate for Older Adults from Tufts Universityhttps://hnrca.tufts.edu/myplate/
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, Weight-control Information Network, “Young at Heart: Tips for Older Adults”win.niddk.nih.gov/publications/young_heart.htm#tipsolder
Oral Health For Patients With Alzheimer’s Disease Or Related Disorders (ADRD)www.emergencydentistsusa.com/alzheimers-dental-care/
AARP, Managing Stresswww.aarp.org/health/staying_healthy/stress
American Federation for Aging Research, Infoaging.orghttps://www.infoaging.org/qa/stress-contribute-skin-aging/
Alzheimer’s Associationhttp://www.alz.org
Alzheimer’s Disease Education and Referral Centerhttp://www.alz.org/
National Institute on Aging (NIA)https://www.nia.nih.gov/
Senior Health Guidehttps://www.everydayhealth.com/senior-health/
Mental Health and Aging Resource Guidehttps://www.apa.org/pi/aging/resources/guides/practitioners-should-know.aspx
Assisted Living Facilities and Senior Living Communitieshttps://www.seniorguidance.org/
Home Safety Tips for Seniorshttps://www.aplaceformom.com/senior-care-resources/articles/home-safety-tips-for-seniors
Guide To Senior Safety At Homehttps://www.alarms.org/guide-to-senior-safety-at-home/
Dementia - Early Signshttps://www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au/health/conditionsandtreatments/dementia-early-signs
Mesothelioma Hubhttps://www.mesotheliomahub.com/Mesothelioma/
Comprehensive Room-by-Room Home Safety Guide for Older Adultshttps://www.thezebra.com/senior-home-safety-guide/
A Guide To Healthy Aginghttps://www.healthinaging.org/tools-and-tips/guide-healthy-aging
Driving in Your Golden Years: Senior Resources for Road Safetyhttps://www.carrentals.com/blog/senior-road-safety/
Assisted Living Costshttps://www.assistedlivingfacilities.org/resources/assisted-living-costs/

L

General Resources

Geriatric Mental Health Foundationwww.GMHFonline.org7910 Woodmont Avenue, Suite 1050, Bethesda, MD 20814(301) 654-7850
American Association for Geriatric Psychiatrywww.AAGPonline.org7910 Woodmont Avenue, Suite 1050, Bethesda, MD 20814(301) 654-7850
Alzheimer’s Associationhttps://www.alz.org/alzheimer_s_dementia225 N. Michigan Avenue, Floor 17, Chicago, IL 60601-7633(800) 272-3900
Alzheimer’s Disease Education and Referral Centerhttp://www.alz.org/PO Box 8250, Silver Spring, MD 20907-8250(800) 438-4380
American Psychiatric Associationhttp://www.psych.org1000 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 1825, Arlington, VA 22209-3901(703) 907-7300
Depression & Bipolar Support Alliancehttp://www.dbsalliance.org730 N. Franklin Street, Suite 501, Chicago, IL 60610-7224(800) 826-3632
Families for Depression Awarenesshttp://www.familyaware.org300 Fifth Avenue, Waltham, MA 02451(781) 890-0220
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Healthy Aginghttps://www.cdc.gov/aging/index.html
National Alliance for the Mentally Illhttp://www.nami.orgColonial Place Three, 2107 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 300, Arlington, VA 22201-3042(800) 950-NAMI (6264)
National Institute on Aging (NIA)https://www.nia.nih.gov/Building 31, Room 5C27, 31 Center Drive, MSC 2292, Bethesda, MD 20892(301) 496-1752
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)http://www.nimh.nih.govPublic Information and Communications Branch, 6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 8184, MSC 9663, Bethesda, MD 20892-9663(866) 615-6464
National Mental Health Associationhttp://www.nmha.org2001 N. Beauregard Street, 12th Floor, Alexandria, VA 22311(703) 684-7722
Senior Health Guidehttps://www.everydayhealth.com/senior-health/
Mental Health and Aging Resource Guidehttps://www.apa.org/pi/aging/resources/guides/practitioners-should-know.aspxMental Health/Aging Advocacy Project, Mental Health Association of SE PA, 1211 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107(215) 751-1800, ext. 266
Real Men Real Depressionhttp://menanddepression.nimh.nih.govNational Institute of Mental Health, Public Information and Communications Branch, 6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 8184, MSC 9663, Bethesda, MD 20892-9663(866) 615-6464
Assisted Living Facilities and Senior Living Communitieshttps://www.seniorguidance.org/
The Discovery Village - Occurring Disordershttps://www.therecoveryvillage.com/co-occurring-disorders/866-834-8489
National Center for Chronic Disease and Preventionhttps://www.cdc.gov/copd/index.html888-232-6348
Personal Development | Skills + Forumhttps://personal-development.com/
Guide to Suicide Counselinghttps://counselor-license.com/careers/suicide-counselors/
Bankrate - Becoming a home-sharing hosthttps://www.bankrate.com/retirement/retiree-guide-to-hosting-airbnb/
Child Identity Thefthttps://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/0040-child-identity-theft
Identity Thefthttps://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/0005-identity-theft